Information on Nevada driving law and Nevada traffic laws...
The Nevada DMV operates an extensive demerit point system as part of our driver improvement program. When we receive a conviction notice from a court, the offense is entered on your driving record and demerit points are assigned.
Under Nevada driving law, when 12 months have elapsed from the date of a conviction, the demerits for that violation are deleted from the total demerits accumulated. Convictions for violations of Nevada traffic laws remain part of your permanent driving record.
You will receive a mailed notification from the DMV's Driver License Review Section when you reach 3 or more points. If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you may have 3 points removed by completing a DMV-approved traffic safety course - only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law.
Under Nevada driving law, when you receive 12 or more points in any 12-month period, your driver license is automatically suspended for 6 months. You will be mailed a certified letter before your license is suspended and have the right to a hearing through the Office of Administrative Hearings.
Update: New Nevada Seat Belt Law for 2004 - Nevada driving law requires seat belt use by all occupants in a vehicle. Children under age 5 who weigh less than 40 pounds must be in an approved safety seat which is properly installed. Children under 6 who weigh less than 60 pounds will be required to ride in an approved safety seat or booster seat beginning June 1, 2004.
The following is a partial list of violations of Nevada traffic laws, showing the demerit points that are assigned to your driving record.
See Violation Codes for a complete list of offenses and points.
Nevada driving law stipulates that if you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points you may have 3 points removed by completing a traffic safety course only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law. If the course is required to complete a plea bargain with a court, no credit is given.
The school must be one of those approved by DMV. You may attend traffic school only once in a 12-month period to remove points from your record.
Under Nevada driving law, attending traffic safety school removes 3 demerit points. However, the record of the conviction for violation of Nevada traffic laws remains part of your driving history.
In accordance with Nevada driving law, you may lose your Nevada driving privilege and license under certain circumstances. In all instances you would be notified by certified mail and have the right to a hearing. Please be sure we have your correct address.
Examples of driver license suspensions and revocations under Nevada driving law are listed below. Juveniles may also have license issuance delayed for some offenses of Nevada traffic laws.
You must physically receive a license before your driving privilege is reinstated. Your privilege will remain suspended or revoked indefinitely until you comply with all reinstatement requirements, including actually receiving a license. Under Nevada driving law, there is no time limit or statute of limitations.
If your license is suspended or revoked in accordance with Nevada driving law because of an active court case such as Failure to Appear, you must resolve all of the criminal charges before your license can be reinstated.
In accordance with Nevada traffic laws, DMV does not notify drivers when their suspension or revocation period has ended. The notice you receive when the action is first taken clearly states the beginning and ending dates. Under Nevada driving law, drivers with multiple suspensions or revocations must wait for all periods to end before applying for reinstatement.
What You Should Know About Buying a New Car.
If you are considering buying a new car, be sure to read our special report. It could literally save you hundreds of dollars!
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car.
There are a lot of pitfalls to look out for when you are buying a used car. This special report will help you avoid many of those pitfalls.
What You Should Know About Auto Insurance.
Do you start yawning when someone tries to talk to you about auto insurance? Our special report will let you know what you need to know, in plain English.
What You Should Know About an Auto Loan.
Thinking about getting an auto loan? Read our special report before you do. It could save you some headaches - as well as some money!
Driving Related Articles
What You Should Know About Buying a New Car - Part I What You Should Know About Buying a New Car - Part II
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part I What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part II
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part III What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part IV
What You Should Know About Buying a Used Car - Part V What You Should Know About Auto Insurance - Part I
What You Should Know About Auto Insurance - Part II What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part I
What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part II What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part III
What You Should Know About an Auto Loan - Part IV Know Your Insurance Accident Process